The Book’s Done – Now what?


Writing a book – no matter how hard that is (and it isn’t easy) is a piece of cake compared to getting published. There are thousands of blog posts out there arguing the difference between self publishing and “traditional” publishing. I’m not going to climb into that fight, instead I’m just going ahead with what I think makes sense – which is this – if Agents don’t want to sell my book then I’ll sell it myself.

So … book done, now what? Well first you have to plan. What is the purpose of publishing your book? Mine is to make money from my writing. I’m not in any hurry to do this for a couple of reasons. One; as the title of this blog indicates I have a day job which puts food on the table, and keeps the roof over our heads. Two; it ain’t gonna happen in a hurry, so there’s little point in basing a plan on something that isn’t going to happen.  So I have a plan. It filled several pages of A4 (electronically of course) with “stuff” that I think is required. Here’s a cut-down list:

  • Distribution Options for Self Publishers
  • Legal (ISBN numbers, tax numbers, copyright)
  • Marketing
  • Formats (close cousin to Distribution Options)
  • Cover Art

I’ll cover each of these in separate blog posts. Meanwhile, since you came here and for that you need to be rewarded, please take a look at the links on the left. Collectively they tell you all you need to know about getting a book out there.

About Simon Royle

Thinking about the future, and how to affect positive change for that future.
This entry was posted in Publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

